Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (EC) consists of seven members: the President, the President Elect or the Past President, the Secretary, the Treasurer and three additional members. All members of the EC, except the President and the Past President, are elected by secret ballot by the Council during a meeting of the Council. After a term of one year, the President Elect will automatically become President. The members of the EC are not delegates of their respective countries. All details about the election process can be found in the statutes of the EFMC on the EFMC official website: www.efmc.info

President Prof. Dr Koen AUGUSTYNS

University of Antwerp Medicinal Chemistry Campus Drie Eiken - Building A, Room 2.07 Universiteitsplein 1 - 2610 Antwerpen Belgium Tel: +32:3-265-27-17 - Fax: +32:3-265-27-39 Email: Koen.Augustyns@uantwerpen.be

President Elect Dr Yves P. AUBERSON Novartis Global Discovery Chemistry, WKL-136.6.82 Klybeckstrasse 141 - Basel Switzerland Tel: +41-795939101

Secretary Prof. Dr Anders KARLÈN Uppsala University Department of Medicinal Chemistry BMC Box 574 – Uppsala Sweden Tel : +46-701679177 – Fax: +46-184714474 Email : anders.karlen@orgfarm.uu.se

Treasurer Dr Pascal GEORGE Independent Scientific Expert & Adviser 11, Route de Rochefort 78730 Longvilliers France Tel: +33 673683384 Email: george.pascal@wanadoo.fr

Member Prof. Dr Rui MOREIRA University of Lisbon – Faculty of Pharmacy Av. Prof. Gama Pinto - 1649-019 Lisbon Portugal Tel : +351-217946477 – Fax : +351-217946470 Email : rmoreira@ff.ul.pt

Member Dr Antoni TORRENS Esteve R&D Center Parc Científic de Barcelona, Baldiri i Reixach 4, Barcelona, Spain Tel : +34-934466000 Email : atorrens@esteve.es

Member Dr Matthew TOZER

Consultant & CSO AlgaeCytes Cambridge United Kingdom Email : matttozer@hotmail.com

Activities The current affairs of the Federation are handled by the EC. Among its members, the EC will assign the responsibilities of International Liaison, Communication and Planning.















Council

The Council consists of the members of the EC and one delegate of each Adhering Organisation. According to the statutes, the voting rights are allotted according to the following rules: members of the EC: 1 vote, countries with up to 99 members: 2 votes, countries with 100-199 members: 3 votes, countries with 200-399 members: 4 votes, countries with 400-599 members: 5 votes, countries with 600-899 members: 6 votes, countries with more than 899 members: 7 votes. As for countries with more than one Adhering Organisation, votes will be proportionally distributed among them, taking into a resulting number will be rounded off to the closest digit.

Dr David ALKER

David Alker Associates - The Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Sector (BMCS) of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), United Kingdom

Dr Yves AUBERSON Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research, Switzerland – EFMC Executive Committee

Prof. Dr Koen AUGUSTYNS University of Antwerp, Belgium - EFMC Executive Committee

Prof. Dr Sergey BACHURIN Institute of Physiologically Active Compounds - The D.I. Mendeleev Russian Chemical Society, Medicinal Chemistry Section, Russia

Prof. Dr Bernd CLEMENT Kiel University - German Pharmaceutical Society, Section of Pharmaceutical/Medicinal Chemistry (DPhG), Germany

Prof. Gabriele COSTANTINO Università degli Studi di Parma Division of Medicinal Chemistry of the Italian Chemical Society, Italy

Prof. Dr Gunars DUBURS Latvian Institute of Organic Synthesis - Latvian Association for Medicinal Chemistry, Latvia

Dr Vesna GABELICA MARKOVIC Galapagos - Croatian Chemical Society, Medicinal Chemistry Section, Croatia

Prof. Pilar GOYA LAZA Instituto de Química Medica - Sociedad Española de Química Terapéutica, Spain

Prof. Dr Miroslav J. GASIC Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts - Serbian Chemical Society, Division of Medicinal Chemistry, Serbia

Dr Pascal GEORGE Independent Scientific Expert & Adviser, France – EFMC Executive Committee

Dr Georg JAESCHKE F. Hoffmann-La Roche - Division for Medicinal Chemistry & Chemical Biology (DMCCB), Switzerland

Dr Annika JENMALM JENSEN Karolinska Institutet, Swedish Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Sweden

Prof. Dr Anders KARLÉN Uppsala University, Sweden - EFMC Executive Committee

Prof. Dr Katarzyna KIEC-KONONOWICZ Jagiellonian University - Polish Society of Medicinal Chemistry, Poland

Prof. Dr Danijel KIKELJ University of Ljubijana - Section for Medicinal Chemistry of the Slovenian Pharmaceutical Society, Slovenia

Prof. Dr Thierry LANGER

University of Vienna – Austrian Chemical Society, Medicinal Chemistry, Austria Dr Matilde MARQUES

University of Lisbon - Division of Medicinal Chemistry of the Portuguese Chemical Society, Portugal

Prof. Dr Emmanuel MIKROS Hellenic Society Of Medicinal Chemistry, Greece

Dr Peter MOLENVELD Mercachem - Section Medicinal Chemistry, Royal Netherlands Chemical Society (KNCV), The Netherlands

Prof. Dr Rui MOREIRA University of Lisbon - EFMC Executive Committee

Dr Raphael NUDELMAN Teva Pharmaceutical Industries - Medicinal Chemistry Section of the Israel Chemical Society, Israel

Prof. Dr Erhan PALASKA Hacettepe University – Turkish Association of Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Turkey

Dr Laurent PROVINS UCB, Société Royale de Chimie (SRC), Medicinal Chemistry Division, Belgium

Prof. Dr Jarkko RAUTIO University of Eastern Finland, Finnish Pharmaceutical Society, Finland

Prof. Dr Janos SAPI University of Reims-Champagne-Ardenne – French Medicinal Chemical Society, France

Prof. Dr Trond ULVEN University of Southern Denmark - The Danish Society of Pharmacology, Toxicology and Medicinal Chemistry, Denmark

Dr Antoni TORRENS Esteve - EFMC Executive Committee, Esteve, Spain - EFMC Executive Committee

Dr Matthew TOZER Consultant & CSO AlgaeCytes – EFMC Executive Committee

Prof. Dr Serge VAN CALENBERGH Ghent University - Medicinal and Bioorganic Chemistry Division of Royal Flemish Chemical Society (KVCV), Belgium

Dr Franz VON NUSSBAUM Bayer Pharma AG - Division of Medicinal Chemistry of the German Chemical Society (GDCh), Germany

Prof. Dr János WÖLFLING University of Szeged - Organic and Medicinal Chemistry Division (OMCD) of the Hungarian Chemical Society (HCS), Hungary