The European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) is an independent association representing medicinal chemistry societies in Europe. Its objective is to advance the science of medicinal chemistry by promoting cooperation and networking, by providing training and mentoring, by rewarding scientific excellence, and by facilitating communication and influencing stakeholders.

Meetings  May 2016 Next

Laureates 2016

The EFMC is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 Awards:

  • Nauta Award for Pharmacochemistry
    Prof. François Diederich – ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • UCB-Ehrlich Award for Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry
    Dr Paul J. Hergentrother – University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, United States
  • Prous Institute-Overton and Meyer Award for New Technologies in Drug Discovery
    Prof. Jan Steyaert – VU Brussels, Belgium

The Awards will be presented during the XXIV International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC-ISMC 2016), scheduled to be held on August 28 – September 1, 2016 in Manchester, United Kingdom.

Previous Laureates

Nauta Award for Pharmacochemistry
2014: Dr Paul Leeson, GlaxoSmithKline, United Kingdom
2012: Prof. Alexander Levitzki, THe Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
2010: Prof. Camille George Wermuth, University Louis Pasteur Strasbourg and Prestwick Chemicals

UCB-Ehrlich Award for Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry
2014: Prof. Craig Crews, Yale University, Department of Chemistry, New Haven, USA
2012: Dr Krzysztof Józwiak, Department of Chemistry, Medical University of Lublin, Poland
2010: Dr Anthony Wood, Pfizer Global Research and Development

Prous Institute-Overton and Meyer Award for New Technologies in Drug Discovery
2014: Prof. György Ferenczy and Prof. György Keseru, Research Centre for Natural Sciences, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary
2012: Dr Harren Jhoti, Astex Pharmaceuticals, UK
2010: Prof. Klaus Müller, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

25 26 27 28 29 30 01
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 01 02 03 04 05
All events   |  Future events

Job portal

There are currently no jobs available

Job portal page

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on LinkedIn

ChemBridgeBoehringer IngelheimNovartisProf Dr W. Th. Nauta FoundationPfizerServierRoche
 Prous Institute for Biomedical ResearchUCBJanssen R&DBayerMerck