The European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) is an independent association representing medicinal chemistry societies in Europe. Its objective is to advance the science of medicinal chemistry by promoting cooperation and networking, by providing training and mentoring, by rewarding scientific excellence, and by facilitating communication and influencing stakeholders.

Meetings  April 2016 Next

Call for Nominations EFMC 2016 Awards

To acknowledge outstanding achievements in the field of Medicinal Chemistry, EFMC is conferring every two years three Awards on the occasion of the International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry. The 2016 Awards will be conferred on the occasion of the XXIV EFMC "International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry"  (EFMC-ISMC) to be held in Manchester, United-Kingdom on August 28 - September 1, 2016.

All 3 awards consist of a diploma, € 7.500 and an invitation for a lecture by the Award recipient at the upcoming EFMC-ISMC International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry.

The EFMC-Awards include:

For the advancement of Medicinal Chemistry and the development of international organizational structures in Medicinal Chemistry. The award will be given for outstanding achievements in the field of Medicinal Chemistry.

 To acknowledge and recognise outstanding research in the field of Medicinal Chemistry in its broadest sense by a young scientist. This Award has been established with the support of UCB Pharma.

To encourage innovation and investigation in technological development related to drug discovery, this Award established with the support of Prous Institute will be given for the discovery, evaluation or use of new technologies.

Nominations for these Awards consist of a nomination letter, a brief CV including a list of selected publications and two supporting letters. Self-nominations are also accepted. The nominations should be submitted to Prof. Koen Augustyns, President of the EFMC, via the following link:

Deadline for submission: January 31, 2016

Previous Laureates

Nauta Award for Pharmacochemistry
2014: Dr Paul Leeson, GlaxoSmithKline, United Kingdom
2012: Prof. Alexander Levitzki, THe Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
2010: Prof. Camille George Wermuth, University Louis Pasteur Strasbourg and Prestwick Chemicals

UCB-Ehrlich Award for Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry
2014: Prof. Craig Crews, Yale University, Department of Chemistry, New Haven, USA
2012: Dr Krzysztof Józwiak, Department of Chemistry, Medical University of Lublin, Poland
2010: Dr Anthony Wood, Pfizer Global Research and Development

Prous Institute-Overton and Meyer Award for New Technologies in Drug Discovery
2014: Prof. György Ferenczy and Prof. György Keseru, Research Centre for Natural Sciences, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary
2012: Dr Harren Jhoti, Astex Pharmaceuticals, UK
2010: Prof. Klaus Müller, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

28 29 30 31 01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 01
All events   |  Future events

Job portal

There are currently no jobs available

Job portal page

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on LinkedIn

ChemBridgeBoehringer IngelheimNovartisProf Dr W. Th. Nauta FoundationPfizerServierRoche
 Prous Institute for Biomedical ResearchUCBJanssen R&DBayerMerck