The European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) is an independent association representing medicinal chemistry societies in Europe. Its objective is to advance the science of medicinal chemistry by promoting cooperation and networking, by providing training and mentoring, by rewarding scientific excellence, and by facilitating communication and influencing stakeholders.

Meetings  February 2018 Next

EFMC Prizes at EFMC-ASMC 2017

The « EFMC Prize for a Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia » and the « EFMC Prize for a Young Medicinal Chemist in Industry » have been established by the European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) to acknowledge and recognise an outstanding young medicinal chemist working in academia or in industry within Europe. The prizes are given annually and consist of a diploma, €1.000 and an invitation for a short presentation at an EFMC Symposium. Two nominees are also identified and acknowledged.

The 2017 Prizes have been conferred on occasion of the EFMC International Symposium on Advances in Synthetic and Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC-ASMC), held in Vienna (Austria) on August 27-31, 2017.

The winner of the Industry Prize was Philip HUMPHREYS (GlaxoSmithKline, UK) who gave a talk on “THE DEVELOPMENT OF NON-BET BROMODOMAIN CHEMICAL PROBES”. The most meritorious runners-up were Fabien Lecomte (UCB, UK) and Mirjana Bukvic (Fidelta, Croatia).

Christian GRUBER (Medical University of Vienna, Austria) won the 2017 EFMC Prize for a Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia. At the EFMC-ISMC’17 Symposium, he gave a talk entitled “NATURE-DERIVED PEPTIDES AS PHARMACOLOGICAL TOOLS TO DESIGN NOVEL THERAPEUTICS”. Andreas KOEBERLEE (Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena, Germany) and Vittorio Limongelli (USI Lugano, Switzerland) have been identified and acknowledged as runners-up.

Previous Prize winners

EFMC Prize for a Young Medicinal Chemist in Industry

2016: Jean Quancard, Novartis Pharma, Switzerland
2015: Steve Andrews, Heptares Therapeutics, United Kingdom
2014: Grazia Piizzi, Novartis, CH
2013: Frederick Goldberg, AstraZeneca, UK
2012: Sharan Bagal, Pfizer, UK
2011: Alexander V. Mayweg, Hoffmann-la Roche, CH
2010: Antonio Nardi, Grünenthal, DE

EFMC Prize for a Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia
2016: Frank Boeckler, Eberhard Karls University Tuebingen, Germany 
2015: Alessio Ciulli, University of Dundee, United Kingdom
2014: Christian Olsen, University of Copenhagen, DK
2013: Gonçalo Bernardes, Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge, UK and Instituto de Medicino Molecular, University of Lisbon, PT
2012: Stuart Conway, University of Oxford, UK
2011: Christian Heinis, Ecole Polytechnique Federal de Lausanne (EPFL), CH
2010: Andreas Bender, University of Cambridge, UK

29 30 31 01 02 03 04
05 06 07 08 09 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 01 02 03 04
All events   |  Future events

Job portal

Project in Dry Eye Disease Drug Development (IT-DED3) is seeking candidates for 12 Early Stage Researcher (ESR) positions across Europe, IT-DED3 Project, University of Antwerp: Medicinal Chemistry, Antwerp, Belgium
read more

Medicinal / Synthetic Organic Chemists, Concept Life Sciences: Drug Discovery, Sandwich, Kent, United Kingdom
read more

Job portal page

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on LinkedIn

Follow us on Instagram

ChemBridgeBoehringer IngelheimNovartisProf Dr W. Th. Nauta FoundationPfizerServierRoche
 Prous Institute for Biomedical ResearchUCBJanssen R&DBayerMerck