EFMC Awards 2022 - Laureates announced

The EFMC is excited to announce the names of the 2022 Award winners. We are proud that, this year again, the awardees could be chosen from a large selection of outstanding medicinal chemists and chemical biologists.

Prof. Herbert Waldmann (Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Germany)

For his pioneering contribution to medicinal chemistry and chemical biology, and for the broad range of breakthrough concepts that laid the foundation of chemical biology as a discipline. Herbert Waldmann’s research is deeply interdisciplinary and further includes influential articles covering cell-based screening, activity-based protein profiling and chemical proteomics, genetics, and biophysics methodologies. Noteworthy, he fostered Europe’s scientific community through many partnerships across academia and industry and through his numerous scientific offspring.

Prof. Mike Waring (University of Newcastle, United Kingdom)

For his conceptual work on the role of lipophilicity and for the contribution to advance the field of covalent inhibitors in medicinal chemistry. Mike Waring has been involved in drug discovery and development projects that resulted in several drug candidates reaching clinical trials, including the EGFR inhibitor osimertinib for the treatment of non-small cell lung cancer. Overall, he has made impactful contributions to small molecule drug discovery using novel hit generation approaches such as DNA encoded libraries and fragment-based lead generation.

Prof. Alessio Ciulli (University of Dundee, United Kingdom) 

For his pioneering work in the field of proteolysis-targeting chimera (PROTAC) technology for drug-induced targeted protein degradation. He has made substantial contributions to the development of new ligands of von Hippel-Lindau (VHL) E3 ligase, specifically bivalent small-molecule dimerisers of the VHL E3 ubiquitin ligase (VHL-based PROTACs) and elucidated their mechanism of action. Notably, Alessio Ciulli’s research provided a rational basis for the design and optimisation of the next generation of targeted protein degradation systems.

All 3 awards consist of a diploma, € 7.500 and an invitation to give a headline presentation at the EFMC International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry.

The 2022 Awards will be presented at the XXVII EFMC "International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry" (EFMC-ISMC), scheduled to take place in Nice, France on September 4-8, 2022