Gabriele Costantino


Dear Colleagues,

We are approaching the year 2011, and is time to make a survey of the this ending year. Brussels has hosted the 21st International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry (ISMC), and you will find a report of the meeting in this issue. The ISMC has clearly reached a deep maturity, has indicated by the number of participants, quality of the science, and interest demonstrated by expositors. During the ISMC, new members of the Executive Committee of the EFMC have been elected, some others leave their active involvement. You will find the new composition in the News from EC/EFMC, in this issue. I just want to take this occasion to welcome the new President Elect of the EFMC, Dr. Ulrich Stilz (Sanofi Aventis, Germany) and to greet Prof. Roberto Pellicciari who leaves the Executive Committee, after several years of active and deep commitment in the Federation, culminating with his presidency. No surprise that we offer to him and his group our Lab Presentation section, as a reward to one of the most productive academic medicinal chemistry group worldwide.
The Perspective article, by David Fox, highlights collaborative research, in its various guises, as the key to continued success in the changing and evolving world of medicinal chemistry and drug discovery.

The coming year 2011 will offer several news. Many interesting symposia, schools and courses are in the pipeline, and list is reported here. The EC of EFMC, together with the committees is actively working on a reshape of the web site, with the ambition to make it an established portal for everyone interested in medicinal chemistry, from the job portal to the meeting calendar.

I quit here, not before giving to you all my best whishes for a happy and productive year 2011!

Gabriele Costantino



Gabriele Costantino
Univ. of Parma, IT

Editorial Committee

Erden Banoglu
Gazi Univ., TR

Leonardo Scapozza
Univ. of Geneve, CH

Wolfgang Sippl
Univ. Halle-Wittenberg, DE

Sarah Skerratt
Pfizer, Sandwich

Executive Committee

Gerhard F. Ecker President
Roberto Pellicciari Past Pres.
Koen Augustyns Secretary
Rasmus P. Clausen Treasurer
Javier Fernandez Member
Mark Bunnage Member
Peter Matuys Member

For more information please contact