EFMC is very proud to announce the launch of its brand new website! A modern design and structure together with an interesting, up to date content makes the site interesting and attractive for the medchem community. We invite you to have a look at www.efmc.info, to find out more on the numerous activities of EFMC. We encourage any feedback from users of the site. Please feel free to email the Administrative Secretariat (administration@efmc.info) with your recommendations.


Join us on LinkedIn! Become member of the EFMC LinkedIn group and stay updated on EFMC activities. As the group becomes populated, this will create a unique online forum for medicinal chemistry.


The third edition of “Frontiers in Medicinal Chemistry – Emerging Targets, Novel Candidates and Innovative Strategies” has been organised on June 19-21 in Stockholm together with the Swedish Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences and the Medicinal Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society. Following the spirit of this series, it brought together top quality speakers from the Scandinavian region and from the US, and attracted more than 250 participants. A report of the meeting is available under “EFMC events”.


Together with Maurizio Botta and Ulrike Holzgrabe, Gerhard Ecker organised two EFMC-sponsored sessions on “Innovative Strategies to Combat Neglected Diseases” at PharmSciFair 2011, held in Prague on June 13-17. EFMC was highly pleased with the quality of the contributions from Simon Croft, Maria Laura Bolognesi, Reto Brun, Oludotun A. Phililps, Franz Bucar and Anthony Williams.


At the EFMC Council meeting, held on June 19 in Stockholm on occasion of the Frontiers in Medicinal Chemistry, the Council elected Phil Jones (UK) as new member of the Executive Committee. From January 1, 2012 on Phil Jones will replace Javier Fernandez (Spain).



Gabriele Costantino
Univ. of Parma, IT

Editorial Committee

Erden Banoglu
Gazi Univ., TR

Lucija Peterlin Masic
Univ. of Ljubljana, SI

Leonardo Scapozza
Univ. of Geneve, CH

Wolfgang Sippl
Univ. Halle-Wittenberg, DE

Sarah Skerratt
Pfizer, Sandwich, UK

Executive Committee

Gerhard F. Ecker President
Roberto Pellicciari Past Pres.
Koen Augustyns Secretary
Rasmus P. Clausen Treasurer
Javier Fernandez Member
Mark Bunnage Member
Peter Matuys Member

For more information please contact info@efmc.info