News from the Societies

Section Medicinal Chemistry, Royal Netherlands Chemical Society (KNCV)

Dr. Harald Albers wins the two yearly Dutch Medicinal Chemistry Award

On 22nd March 2013 the two yearly Dutch Medicinal Chemistry Prize for the best Dutch Ph.D thesis in the field was awarded by the Section of Medicinal Chemistry of the Royal Netherlands Chemical Society to Dr. Harald Albers. The title of his thesis was “Development of ATX and DUSP inhibitors; Inhibiting phosphate ester hydrolysis in biology”. The research was performed at the Dutch Cancer Institute (NKI) in Amsterdam in the group of prof. Dr. Huib Ovaa and the Ph.D title was obtained from the University of Leiden by promoters prof. Dr. Hermen Overkleeft and prof. Dr. Jacques Neefjes in April 2012. The jury of the prize consisted of Dr. Christa E. Müller (University of Bonn), prof. Dr. Alexander Dömling (University of Groningen), Dr. Floris van Delft (Radboud University Nijmegen) and Dr. Geert Jan Sterk (Mercachem). The prize, € 1000 (sponsored by Mercachem) and a certificate, was handed over during the yearly spring symposium in Utrecht entitled ‘Medicinal chemistry and (epi)genetics’.


Turkish Association of Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Prof. Dr. Meral Tunçbilek of Ankara University and also a member of the Turkish Association of Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry, wins the Erol Toksoz Award on Drug Research given by Sanovel Pharmaceuticals, Turkey. The "Erol Toksoz Award on Drug Research" was established to honour the memory of Pharm. Erol Toksoz who was the founder of Sanovel Pharmaceuticals. The award is given biennially to a scientist for his/her pioneering work in drug discovery area. Prof. Tunçbilek won this year's award for her work on the discovery of novel purine ribonucleoside analogues as promising anticancer agents, which was recently published in Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (55(7):3058-65, 2012).


The Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Sector (BMCS) of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)

In 4Q2012, the BMCS held two scientific symposia aimed at given postgraduate and postdoctoral researchers the opportunity to give either oral or poster presentations on their work. The 1st RSC BMCS Agriscience Chemical Biology Postgraduate Symposium, was held on 1st and 2nd November at Imperial College, London. See for a summary and details of the winners. The 6th RSC BMCS Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Postgraduate Symposium was held on 14th December in the Department of Chemistry, Cambridge University; see for details.

NB The 7th RSC BMCS Biological and Medicinal Chemistry Symposium will be held on 13th December 2013 at the University of Cambridge


Sociedad Española de Química Terapéutica (SEQT)

Third Seqt Summer School "Medicinal Chemistry in Drug Discovery: the Pharma Perspective"

June 25-27, 2013
Tres Cantos (Madrid), Spain

The Third SEQT Summer School “Medicinal Chemistry in Drug Discovery: The Pharma Perspective” will be organized by the Spanish Society of Medicinal Chemistry (SEQT) and GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) with the aim of approaching the pharma industry to young researchers, both graduate students and post-doctoral associates, working in chemistry and health sciences related fields. The School will be held at GSK R&D facilities in Tres Cantos (Madrid) in June 25-27 of 2013. The scientific program will be illustrated through real case studies led by an exceptional panel of industry experts currently working at Almirall, Esteve, Faes, GlaxoSmithKline and Janssen.


More information is available on

Xvii Seqt National Meeting "Advances in Drug Discovery: Successes, Trends and Future Challeges"

October 2-5, 2013
Madrid, Spain

The Spanish Society of Medicinal Chemistry (SEQT) is organizing the XVIIth National Meeting on “Advances in Drug Discovery: Successes, Trends and Future Challenges” scheduled to be held on October 2-5th in Madrid, Spain. The Scientific Program will be composed of invited plenary lectures, short oral communications and poster sessions, covering the main stages of modern drug discovery and will be completed by a Commercial Exhibition as well as a Social Program.


For further information and regular updates, please visit our website


Gabriele Costantino
Univ. of Parma, IT

Editorial Committee

Erden Banoglu
Gazi Univ., TR

Lucija Peterlin Masic
Univ. of Ljubljana, SLO

Leonardo Scapozza
Univ. of Geneve, CH

Wolfgang Sippl
Univ. Halle-Wittenberg, DE

Sarah Skerratt
Pfizer, Sandwich, UK

Executive Committee

Uli Stilz President
Gerhard F. Ecker Past Pres.
Koen Augustyns Secretary
Hein Coolen Treasurer
Gabriele Costantino Member
Phil Jones Member
Jordi Gracia Member

For more information please contact