Gabriele Costantino


Dear Colleagues,

The new year 2015 will open with the new Presidency of Prof. Koen Augustyns, elected during the Council meeting of Berlin 2012. MedChemWatch wants to welcome the new President offering him the opportunity to present his programme to our readers in an Interview. At the same time, I am sure to interpret the everyone’s feeling in thanking Dr. Uli Stilz for his dedication and commitment as EFMC president in the past term. Under Uli’s guidance, a major reshaping of the organizational layout of our organization has taken place and this will certainly impact on the EFMC activities for the next years.

The new year 2015 will also bring some changes in our Newsletter. MedChemWatch was established in 2007, and since then, has been the official dissemination channel of EFMC, covering not only the events, meetings, congresses organised by EFMC and by the National Adhering Organizations, but also providing perspective articles and presentations by leading medicinal chemists in Europe. The entire archive of MedChemWatch is available at

Now, there is a continuous quest, especially from the younger members, for more flexible and quick dissemination means, also linked to social networks. In this respect, EFMC has established a very efficient web site and the Twitter account is becoming more and more used. In this respect, the EC has proposed and the Council has approved the change of the MedChemWatch format. In 2015, the newsletter will be shorter, distributed monthly and will contain a quick and easy compilation of news from EC/EFMC, from member societies as well as announcements and short reports of meetings, schools and courses.

I would like to thank the present Editorial Board for his work and dedication and all the people who have contributed, over the last years, to the success of the newsletter. At the same time, I am really looking forward to an even more successful ‘new’ MedChemWatch. Its success and its utility will strongly depends on the collaboration of the Member Societies and, ultimately, of all the European medicinal chemists. Your input, suggestions, criticism, will be always very welcome!


My best regards,

Gabriele Costantino
Editor of MedChemWatch



Gabriele Costantino
Univ. of Parma, IT

Editorial Committee

Erden Banoglu
Gazi Univ., TR

Lucija Peterlin Masic
Univ. of Ljubljana, SLO

Leonardo Scapozza
Univ. of Geneve, CH

Wolfgang Sippl
Univ. Halle-Wittenberg, DE

Sarah Skerratt
Pfizer, Sandwich, UK

Executive Committee

Koen Augustyns President
Uli Stilz Past President
Jordi Grącia Secretary
Pascal George Treasurer
Yves P. Auberson Member
Phil Jones Member
Antonello Mai Member

For more information please contact