EFMC Awards

EFMC Awards 2024 - Call for Nominations

To acknowledge outstanding achievements in the field of Medicinal Chemistry and Chemical Biology, EFMC will confer three awards in 2024. The Awards will be presented at the XXVIII EFMC International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC-ISMC 2024) to be held in Rome, Italy on September 1-5, 2024.

All 3 awards consist of a diploma, € 7.500 and an invitation to give a headline presentation at EFMC-ISMC 2024.

Nominations for these Awards consist of a nomination letter, a brief CV including a list of selected publications and two supporting letters. Self-nominations are also accepted. The nominations should be submitted to Dr Luc Van Hijfte, President Elect of the EFMC, via the following link:

Deadline for submission: January 31, 2024 | Awardees will be announced in the course of May 2024!

The Award will be given for outstanding achievements in scientific research, together with a contribution to the development of international organisational structures in Medicinal Chemistry and Chemical Biology.

To acknowledge and recognise outstanding research in the field of Medicinal Chemistry in its broadest sense by a young scientist. This Award has been established with the support of UCB Pharma.

To encourage innovation and investigation in technological development related to drug discovery, this Award established with the support of Prous Institute will be given for the discovery, evaluation or use of new technologies.

EFMC announces the creation of the EFMC-WuXi AppTec Award for Excellence in Chemical Biology

The "EFMC-WuXi AppTec Award for Excellence in Chemical Biology" will recognise outstanding research in the field of chemical biology as defined by EFMC in The Chemical Biology-Medicinal Chemistry Continuum: EFMC’s VisionChemBioChem 2021, 22, 2823– 2825. The Award is given biennially and consists of a diploma, € 7.500 and an invitation to present a lecture at an EFMC-ISCB symposium.

The award shall be open to any scientist whose career does not exceed 20 years after PhD on January 1st of the year during which the award is to be presented, and whose accomplishment has not yet been honoured by other EFMC awards.

The award will be conferred biennially on the occasion of the European Federation for Medicinal chemistry and Chemical Biology International Symposium on Chemical Biology (EFMC-ISCB). The EFMC-ISCB 2023 will be held in Basel, Switzerland on November 16-18, 2023.

This Award has been established with the support of WuXi AppTec.

EFMC Awards 2023 - Laureate

The EFMC is proud to announce the winner of the first EFMC-WuXi AppTec Award for Excellence in Chemical Biology:

  • Prof. Gonçalo Bernardes (University of Cambridge, UK & IMM Lisboa, Portugal)

For his ground-breaking contributions to the field of chemical biology and cancer biology with meCLICK-Seq, a substrate-hijacking and RNA degradation strategy for the study of RNA methylation, and small molecules that are efficacious in vivo using platinum activators. His innovative research pursues key questions in chemistry and molecular medicine by using innovative strategies that bridge disciplines and inspire the programmes of other researchers.

The 2023 Award will be presented at the EFMC-ISCB 2023, which will be held in Basel, Switzerland on November 16-18, 2023.

EFMC Awards 2022 - Laureates

Prof. Herbert Waldmann (Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Germany)

For his pioneering contribution to medicinal chemistry and chemical biology, and for the broad range of breakthrough concepts that laid the foundation of chemical biology as a discipline. Herbert Waldmann’s research is deeply interdisciplinary and further includes influential articles covering cell-based screening, activity-based protein profiling and chemical proteomics, genetics, and biophysics methodologies. Noteworthy, he fostered Europe’s scientific community through many partnerships across academia and industry and through his numerous scientific offspring.

Prof. Mike Waring (Newcastle University, United Kingdom)

For his conceptual work on the role of lipophilicity and for the contribution to advance the field of covalent inhibitors in medicinal chemistry. Mike Waring has been involved in drug discovery and development projects that resulted in several drug candidates reaching clinical trials, including the EGFR inhibitor osimertinib for the treatment of non-small cell lung cancer. Overall, he has made impactful contributions to small molecule drug discovery using novel hit generation approaches such as DNA encoded libraries and fragment-based lead generation.

Prof. Alessio Ciulli (University of Dundee, United Kingdom) 

For his pioneering work in the field of proteolysis-targeting chimera (PROTAC) technology for drug-induced targeted protein degradation. He has made substantial contributions to the development of new ligands of von Hippel-Lindau (VHL) E3 ligase, specifically bivalent small-molecule dimerisers of the VHL E3 ubiquitin ligase (VHL-based PROTACs) and elucidated their mechanism of action. Notably, Alessio Ciulli’s research provided a rational basis for the design and optimisation of the next generation of targeted protein degradation systems.

All 3 awards consist of a diploma, € 7.500 and an invitation to give a headline presentation at the EFMC International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry.

The 2022 Awards will be presented at the XXVII EFMC "International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry" (EFMC-ISMC), scheduled to take place in Nice, France on September 4-8, 2022. 

Previous Laureates

Nauta Pharmacochemistry Award for Medicinal Chemistry and Chemical Biology

  • 2020Prof. Adriaan Ijzerman, Leiden University, The Netherlands
  • 2018: Prof. Christa Müller, University of Bonn, Germany
  • 2016: Prof. François Diederich, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • 2014: Dr Paul Leeson, GlaxoSmithKline, United Kingdom
  • 2012: Prof. Alexander Levitzki, THe Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel
  • 2010: Prof. Camille George Wermuth, University Louis Pasteur Strasbourg and Prestwick Chemicals

UCB-Ehrlich Award for Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry

  • 2020: Dr Malin Lemurell, AstraZeneca, Sweden
  • 2018: Prof. Adam Nelson, University of Leeds, United Kingdom
  • 2016: Prof. Paul J. Hergenrother, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • 2014: Prof. Craig Crews, Yale University, Department of Chemistry, New Haven, USA
  • 2012: Dr Krzysztof Józwiak, Department of Chemistry, Medical University of Lublin, Poland
  • 2010: Dr Anthony Wood, Pfizer Global Research and Development, United Kingdom

Prous Institute-Overton and Meyer Award for New Technologies in Drug Discovery

  • 2020Prof. Gisbert Schneider, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • 2018: Prof. Benjamin Cravatt – Scripps Research Institute, United States
  • 2016: Prof. Jan Steyaert, VIB & VU Brussels, Belgium
  • 2014: Prof. György Ferenczy and Prof. György Keseru, Research Centre for Natural Sciences, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary
  • 2012: Dr Harren Jhoti, Astex Pharmaceuticals, United Kingdom
  • 2010: Prof. Klaus Müller, ETH Zürich, Switzerland