IUPAC-Richter Prize in Medicinal Chemistry

John Macor awardee of the 2020 IUPAC - RICHTER PRIZE

John Macor has been selected as awardee of the 2020 IUPAC-Richter Prize in recognition of his research work affording new drugs for the treatment of migraine. The acceptance lecture will be held in Basel, Switzerland in September 2021 at the XXVI European Federation of Medicinal Chemistry International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC-ISMC) and a second lecture at the 37th ACS National Medicinal Chemistry Symposium to be held in New York.

This  year marks the eighth occassion of the IUPAC-Richter Prize, which was established in 2005 by IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) and Richter PLC. Awarded biannually, the awardee is announced by IUPAC following nominations and the decision of an indepedent international Selection Committee. According to the rules of the prize the awardee is expected to give two lectures,  one in Europe and one in the United States, at international symposiums on medicinal chemistry. The lecture in which the prize is awarded occurs alternatively in Europe and in the United States.

The awardee receives $10 000, which is sponsored by Richter PLC,  and a plaque, which is presented by IUPAC.

The previous awardees were :

  • 2006 : Malcolm FG Stevens (UK)
  • 2008: Jan Heeres (Belgium)
  • 2010 : Arun Ghosh (USA)
  • 2012 : Stephen Hanessian (Canada)
  • 2014 : Helmut Buschmann (Germany)
  • 2016 : Michael Sofia (USA)
  • 2018 : Peter Grootenhuis (USA)