6th EFMC-YSN MedChemBioOnline announced!
January 28 (17:00 - 19:15 CET)

Interested to learn more about PROTACT and Small Molecules?

Be sure not to miss the 6th EFMC-YSN MedChemBioOnline webinar on January 28


  • 17:00 | Opening 
  • 17:05 | Targeted protein degradation with small molecules: How PROTACs work
    Prof. Alessio Ciulli (University of Dundee, United Kingdom)
  • 17:50 | Title to be confirmed
    Dr Luc Van Hijfte (Symeres, The Netherlands) 
  • 18:00 | Controlling Physicochemical Properties in Drug Design
    Dr Klemens Hoegenauer (Novartis, Switzerland) 
  • 18:45 | Round Table discussion on "Challenges and Opportunities in PROTAC vs Small Molecules Development"
    Prof. Alessio Ciulli (University of Dundee, United Kingdom)
    Dr Danette Daniels (Promega, United States)
    Dr Rutger Folmer (Symeres, The Netherlands)
    Dr Klemens Hoegenauer (Novartis, Switzerland)
    Dr Malin Lemurell (AstraZeneca, Sweden) 
    Dr Georg Winter (Research Center for Molecular Medicine of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria) 
  • 19:15 | End of the Meeting

More information and registration on EFMC-YSN MedChemBioOnline

The event is free and open to all thanks to the generous sponsor of Symeres.

New EFMC Visual Identity

To launch 2021 under good auspices, the EFMC is happy to unveil its new logo and visual identity. After 50 years of existence, EFMC rejuvenates its image, as it takes a leap into the digital era and opens a new chapter of its history.

Those who know our Federation will still recognise themselves in this more dynamic and sleeker version of our beloved logo. The major change lays in the words:

European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry and Chemical Biology

EFMC strongly believes that both disciplines are part of a scientific continuum, ranging from the development of chemical tools to interrogate cellular biology, to the discovery of innovative drug candidates and clinical imaging agents. It is only natural that EFMC’s name acknowledges that it fully represents this extended community.

We invite you all to discover our new logo and to browse our website to explore our new visual identity, learn more about the Federation, its history and its core values.

EFMC History Special Issue

To celebrate its golden jubilee, the EFMC has commissioned a series of articles charting its history, activities and future directions. We are most grateful to ChemMedChem for its support and publishing these articles.

With the contribution of Henk Timmerman in collecting his "Memoirs of the First 50 Years of the European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry" and the extraordinary archivist efforts of Edmond Differding to gather and write both:

The EFMC is now able to look with pride over its history. 

Curious to know how the EFMC-YSN got created?

From a concept full of promises to a fully organised team of young and motivated scientists currently representing more than 700 members, the EFMC-YSN is a real succes story. 

We invite you to read our article and discover "How the European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) Became Young Again"

Call for nominations - EFMC Honorary Fellows

The EFMC is pleased to announce the 2021 call for nominations for the title of "Honorary Fellows".

This life-long title and associated medal aim to recognize individuals who have provided outstanding support to the EFMC and contributed in strengthening the position of medicinal chemistry, chemical biology or related fields in Europe.

Nominations can be submitted until January 31, 2021, and should include:

  • Brief curriculum of the nominee
  • Statement of the documented facts supporting the nomination, summarizing scientific achievements and support of EFMC activities. (maximum two pages)
  • Two seconding nomination letters

Self-nominations are not accepted. There are no age restrictions, and nominees may have an academic or industrial background. Nominees should be European residents or have spent a considerable proportion of their career in Europe.

The award ceremony will take place during the opening of the XXVI EFMC International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC-ISMC 2021), scheduled to take place in Basel, Switzerland from August 29-September 2, 2021. Appointed Honorary Fellows will be invited to attend the meeting and receive their award on stage.

More information and nominations on www.efmc.info/honorary-fellows.

Call for nominations - EFMC Prizes 2021

To acknowledge and recognise outstanding young medicinal chemists (≤ 12 years after PhD) working in European industry and academia, EFMC established the "EFMC Prize for a Young Medicinal Chemist in Industry" and the "EFMC Prize for a Young Medicinal Chemist in Academia".

The two Prizes are given annually and consists of a diploma, € 1.000 and an invitation for a short presentation at an EFMC symposium.

The prize-winners will be invited to give oral communications at the XXVI EFMC International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC-ISMC 2021).

Applications and regulations can be found on www.efmc.info/prizes.

Deadline for submission: January 31, 2021

Call for nominations - EFMC-YSN PhD Prize 2021

Because recognising excellence and merits is important since the early stage, the EFMC and the Young Scientists Network are proud to announce the second edition of the "EFMC-YSN PhD Prize".

The Prize will consist of a diploma, a free registration and a 500€ travel grant to attend an EFMC Symposium.

The prize-winner will attend the XXVI EFMC International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC-ISMC 2021) and EFMC Young Medicinal Chemist Symposium (EFMC-YMCS 2021).

Applications and regulations can be found on www.efmc.info/ysn-phd-prize.

Deadline for submission: January 31, 2021

A Job/PhD or Post-Doc position to offer in medicinal chemistry or chemical biology? Use the EFMC Job Portal

The posting of Job/PhD & Post-Doc offers is free and is available for any Med Chem related jobs, in industry as well as academic positions.

Job posting is now made even simplier, you only have to provide the URL of the job application. 

Once reviewed, the position will be available on the EFMC website and in the monthly newsletter "MedChemWatch". 

Best Practices in Medicinal Chemistry: Phenotypic Drug Discovery is available!

Phenotypic drug discovery (PDD) has contributed to the discovery of many innovative drugs and has received a growing attention over the last few years.

In this second Webinar by the EFMC Best Practices in Medicinal Chemistry Working Groupwe present the opportunities and challenges of phenotypic drug discovery and share best practices used in industry and academia.

We hope this will help students, early career professionals as well as experienced researchers recognize the full potential of this fascinating approach and understand the key questions and challenges that need to be addressed to discover novel drugs from phenotypic approaches.

The webinar is accompanied with two case studies from the recent literature highlighting the application of some key aspects of PDD.

Slides can be downloaded here and recordings are also available on the EFMC YouTube Channel.

50th Anniversary Collage

EFMC more that anything is a community, and we want to celebrate all those who contributed to its success over the past 50 years!

Whether they contributed through events, awards, prizes, committees, Council membership, workshops or just by being part of the greater EFMC family of Medicinal Chemists and Chemical Biologists. We want to thank all those who helped establish and shape the EFMC, those who pilot it nowadays and those who will take over in the future. 

Now more than ever, the world need scientists that can cooperate and share their knowledge around the globe!

The below collage can only capture a small part of our members and activities, but we hope you will like it! We also call for more pictures to continue celebrating our achievements and our members.