EFMC-YSN PhD Prize 2023 - Call for Nominations

In their aim to recognise excellence and accomplishment in postgraduate research, the EFMC-Young Scientist Network is proud to announce the fourth edition of the "EFMC-YSN PhD Prize", to be awarded to a European PhD student (or up to two years after PhD) in medicinal chemistry or chemical biology.

The prize will consist of a diploma500€ and an invitation to deliver an oral communication at the EFMC Young Medicinal Chemists' Symposium (EFMC-YMCS). The 2023 winner will also receive a free registration and a 500€ travel grant to attend both the IX EFMC International Symposium on Advances in Synthetic and Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC-ASMC 2023) and the 10th EFMC Young Medicinal Chemists' Symposium (EFMC-YMCS 2023) which will take place in Zagreb, Croatia on September 3-7 & September 7-8, 2023.

Who can apply? 

  • PhD students (up to 12 months before the end of PhD and up to two years after PhD) in medicinal chemistry or chemical biology. 
  • Applicants should be European residents, having received or being currently enrolled in a PhD from a European university.

Review Criteria 

  • CV
  • Abstract of the oral communication to be presented at the EFMC-YMCS 2023
  • List of publications
  • Cover letter: « Why is my research worth the Prize »

How to apply?

Deadline for submission: January 31, 2023

The winner will be announced during the month of April.

The selection committee designated Zuzanna Kozicka (Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research (University of Basel), Switzerland) as the winner of the 2023 EFMC-YSN PhD Prize. 

Margarida Espadinha (University of Antwerp, Belgium) has been designated as the most meritorious runner-up.

The selection committee designated Dr Johannes Morstein (University of California, United States) as the winner of the 2022 EFMC-YSN PhD Prize. 

Ms Vanesa Nozal Garcia (CIB - CISC, Spain) and Ms Eleonora Comeo (University of Nottingham, United Kingdom) are the most meritorious runners-up.

The selection committee designated Dr Nikolaj Sten Troelsen (ALK-Abelló, Denmark) as the winner of the 2021 EFMC-YSN PhD Prize. 

The selection committee designated Dr Victor Sebastian Perez (CSIC, Spain) as the winner of the 2020 EFMC-YSN PhD Prize. 

Mrs Marta Serafini (Università del Piemonte Orientale, Italy) is the most meritorious runner-up.