The European Federation for Medicinal Chemistry (EFMC) is an independent association representing medicinal chemistry societies in Europe. Its objective is to advance the science of medicinal chemistry by promoting cooperation and networking, by providing training and mentoring, by rewarding scientific excellence, and by facilitating communication and influencing stakeholders.

Meetings  March 2019 Next
Adhering Organisations

You can see the list of adhering members by choosing a country or a region

Division of Medicinal Chemistry of the Italian Chemical Society (Divisione di Chimica Farmaceutica - SocietÓ Chimica Italiana, DCF-SCI)

  • To improve Medicinal Chemistry in academia and industry by promoting contacts and collaboration between researchers working in this and related fields with the aim to propose and develop projects to advance Medicinal Chemistry
  • To organise National and International Meetings, interdisciplinary Symposia and advanced schools to spread knowledge in drug development
  • To distribute awards and grants that encourage junior scientists to pursue research in Medicinal Chemistry
  • To cooperate with similar associations in the country and abroad.
Founded 1979
Members 600
Member profile Trade and Industry: 13%
Research Institute: 5.5%
University: 81%
Other: 0.5%
Postal address DIFARMA - UniversitÓ degli Studi di Salerno
Via Giovanni Paolo II 132
84084 Fisciano Italy
Telephone +39 089969770

The DCF organizes scientific events such as the annual National Meeting on Medicinal Chemistry (NMMC, since 1979), the Young Medicinal Chemists Symposium “Nuove Prospettive in Chimica Farmaceutica” (NPCF, since 2006) and, every third year, the Medicinal Chemistry session of the SCI national meeting. Every second year, the DCF co-organizes the well-established Joint Meeting on Medicinal Chemistry together with eight other middle European EFMC NAOs. During summer time, it also organizes the European School of Medicinal Chemistry (ESMEC), the only EFMC accredited school, and the EFMC sponsored Summer School on Pharmaceutical Analysis (SSPA). The DCF fosters and supports the participation of young researchers to meetings and other educational events by providing symposium grants to students or early stage researchers, selected on a competitive basis. The DCF administers three prizes (Giordano Giacomello medal, Piero Pratesi medal, Luigi Musajo medal), awarded to scientists who gave an outstanding contribution to the development of Medicinal Chemistry. Other DCF prizes are awarded to young scientists to acknowledge major scientific achievements in the field of Medicinal Chemistry in both academia and industry, as well as to the best Italian Ph.D. thesis in the field.

President Prof. Gianluca SBARDELLA (University of Salerno)
Secretary Prof. Patrizia DIANA (University of Palermo)
Treasurer Prof. Violetta CECCHETTI (University of Perugia)
EFMC-Delegate Prof. Gianluca SBARDELLA (University of Salerno)
25 26 27 28 01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
01 02 03 04 05 06 07
All events   |  Future events

Job portal

Life Science Business Development Manager Europe Asia, Hybrigenics Services SAS: Business Development Europe Asia, Paris or European city, France
read more

Job portal page

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on LinkedIn

Follow us on Instagram

ChemBridgeBoehringer IngelheimNovartisProf Dr W. Th. Nauta FoundationPfizerServierRocheSanofiGalChimia
Prous Institute for Biomedical ResearchUCBJanssen R&DBayerMerckAstra ZenecaIdorsiaMercachemsyncom